comments 2

Out With The Old: Welcome to My New Blog

Yo! Laurise here.  I’ve posted one or two things since switching over, but I haven’t officially acknowledged my blog rebrand. So, here goes nothing:

As some of you know this blog was originally titled “Your Broke Best Friend.” It was this exciting new thing I started my first year of community college (2012?). I mostly used the blog as a content site to sort of get practice writing in an online magazine style. Though I loved YBBF,  I’ve decided that it’s time for me to take my blog in a different direction.

I think the last time I posted as YBBF was 2014. Basically as I got older and began to get real media work experience (i.e. internships), I had less and less time to create content for my blog. A year or two went by and I hadn’t posted much of anything on YBBF at all.

Anyways, now it’s 2015. I’m a senior in college, and a lot has happened during my absence. I’ve recreated this blog in the hopes of getting more personal with you guys. Like, okay for example: a YBBF article might be called “The Perfect First Day Outfit,” as opposed to a personal twist like “This is What I Wore on My First Day.” With that being said, I wanna use this blog as an outlet to tell yall more about myself, my experiences and offer personal advice. I also plan to start incorporating videos into this blog, as opposed to YBBF where I used mostly product shots and barely any imagery of myself.

I feel like even though “Best Friend” was in the title of my blog, you guys hardly ever got a glimpse of my personal life and style. And that’s why my new title is called Girl in Real Life (or Girl IRL, for short). This is going to be authentic, this is going to be genuine, and we are going to be homegirls! (Forreal this time.)

So, I’m going to kick this thing back off with a shit ton of recap posts— just to catch you guys up and fill you in on what’s been going on since my blog break. I hope you will enjoy.

xx Laurise

2 Comments

Leave a comment